Owning It


Owning It
July 21, 2010, 2:32 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Owning It.  That’s my new mantra.  I’ve spent the majority of my life denying it.  Hiding it.  Keeping people away from it.  My life, that is.  That’s not to say I’ve lived life as a solitary woman.  Quite the contrary – I’m married, 3 kids, active in church, school, work, busy “stuff”.  BUT, I’ve never really “owned” that life that I created.  When you’re not comfortable in your own skin, you spend an inordinate amount of time trying to live OTHER people’s reality and that is truly exhausting.  So, quite recently, it caught up with me.  I broke.  Big.  I had no definition.  I had no idea who I had become or who I am destined to be.  I knew I wasn’t as good a Mom as “that person” or as good a wife as “that person”.  I didn’t have friends like “those people”.  I had wrapped myself up in 20 layers of psychological “bubble wrap” and then wondered why no one ever reached out to “touch” me.

I’m going to start at the very beginning (a very fine place to start 😉  so if you want to skip the gory details – come back later.  I’m doing this for ME and so eventually, I can break out of the bubble wrap !


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment